India English
Kenya English
United Kingdom English
South Africa English
Nigeria English
United States English
United States Español
Indonesia English
Bangladesh English
Egypt العربية
Tanzania English
Ethiopia English
Uganda English
Congo - Kinshasa English
Ghana English
Côte d’Ivoire English
Zambia English
Cameroon English
Rwanda English
Germany Deutsch
France Français
Spain Català
Spain Español
Italy Italiano
Russia Русский
Japan English
Brazil Português
Brazil Português
Mexico Español
Philippines English
Pakistan English
Turkey Türkçe
Vietnam English
Thailand English
South Korea English
Australia English
China 中文
Canada English
Canada Français
Somalia English
Netherlands Nederlands

What Are The Different Types of SSL certificates?

Last updated on December 1st, 2020 at 05:34 pm

Types of SSL Certificates

In this article, we cover and examine the six types of SSL Certificates available to website owners and how to get one for your website. We also explain how to get some of the cheapest and most reliable SSL certificates in Nigeria.

SSL certificates protect your site and make your online reputation grow. In order for your site to work properly, it stores all of your website details and information on a server. When you buy an SSL certificate you also get a digital certificate that protects your online stored data.

Most companies offering domain registration and web hosting also offer SSL certificates in Nigeria for businesses and individuals. This article will help you understand the different types of SSL certificates in order to help you choose the one that fits your business the most.

There are many categories and types of SSL certificates however and each type was created to suit specific situations. SSL certificates can be classified by their functionality and by their validation levels.

Types of SSL Certificates by Functionality

There are four different types of SSL certificates when it comes to functionality:

READ ALSO  How to Activate Free SSL on your Cpanel

Single domain SSL Certificate

As the name suggests, a single-domain SSL certificate can only be used on a single domain or IP. This is considered the default SSL certificate type. The DV SSL type is available at all validation levels.

Multi-domain SSL

Multi-Domain certificates can secure up to 100 different domain names and subdomains using a single certificate which helps save time and money. You have control of the Subject Alternative Name (SAN) field to add, change, and delete any of the SANs as needed. Domain Validated, Organization Validated, Extended Validated, and Wildcard SSL types are available as well.

Wildcard SSL

A Wildcard SSL Certificate is designed to secure a domain name along with an unlimited number of sub-domains, which means a user can protect multiple sub-domains under a single certificate.

Multi-Domain Wildcard

A Multi-Domain Wildcard SSL Certificate is fabricated with combined features of both wildcard and multi-domain SSL certificates.

Types of SSL Certificates by Validation Level

There are three different validation levels associated with SSL certificates. They represent three different degrees of authentication, with simple domain control validation on one end of the spectrum and a thorough business vetting on the other end. Here are the three validation types:

Domain Validated(DV)

DV SSL Certificates are fully supported and share the same browser recognition with OV SSL, but come with the advantage of being issued almost immediately and without the need to submit company paperwork. This makes DV SSL ideal for businesses needing low-cost SSL quickly and without the effort of submitting company documents.

Organization Validated (OV)

The Organization Validation SSL certificate’s primary purpose is to encrypt the user’s sensitive information during transactions. This version of SSL certificate has a high assurance similar to the EV SSL certificate, which is used to validate a business’ creditably. This SSL certificate type also displays the website owner’s information in the address bar to help distinguish from malicious sites. OV SSL certificates are the second-highest in price

READ ALSO  How To Get The Cheapest Comodo SSL Certificates

Extended Validation (EV)

With an EV SSL, the Certificate Authority (CA) checks the right of the applicant to use a specific domain name plus, it conducts a thorough vetting of the organization. They show the highest level of verification of Organization and takes longer to issue (3-5 days) due to the validation process.

Introducing TrueHost Cloud – the provider of the cheapest SSL certificates in Nigeria

TrueHost Cloud is one of the most sought-after web hosting companies in Nigeria. This is because it offers the cheapest packages in web hosting, domain name registration and SSL certificates in Nigeria. TrueHost, however, is not only affordable, but it is also reliable and very easy to use.

TrueHost Cloud Nigeria focuses on providing web hosting, registering domains and SSL certificates  in Nigeria. It is very affordable and very reliable. On top of that, TrueHost is really concerned about the businesses it is working with.

Check out Truehost Nigeria’s SSL offers now.

× WhatsApp Us